weight training and voice

Share your knowledge or questions about vocal technique: Belting, high notes, power, hoarseness, distortion, support, Curbing, sound color, singers nodules, microphones, vibrato..... DOES NOT HAVE TO BE "COMPLETE VOCAL TECHNIQUE" RELATED - All kinds of vocal technique posts are WELCOME :)

Moderator: Henrik Kjelin

weight training and voice

Postby slssucks » Mon Nov 15, 2010 6:27 am

I just started lifting weights again and my voice is trashed after a session to the point where I'm almost hoarse. Anyone have any tips on voice protection while working out?
I looked around on the internet and didn't find an answer really...
slssucks

Postby six20aus » Mon Nov 15, 2010 6:37 am

I went through this several months back, started lifting heavy weights again after some time off the gym and within days my voice was completely shot from bench-press and push-ups.

After a lot of reading the general advice I got was - don't.

It can be done if you lift light to medium weights and do not lock the glottis otherwise the tension in that area is just too much and inevitable tension will kill your voice.

Personally, when I work out I always go hard and I know the temptation is to put too much strain on the larynx and so I have given away weights for the moment. I would like to go back to light weights and high reps just to get some definition back...just have to remember to relax and keep breathing and not clench anything in the throat ...
six20aus

Postby GuitarLord » Mon Nov 15, 2010 5:31 pm

Hmm, well basically any type of exercise indeed helps your voice because it makes blood runs better through your body which is good for voice... It also helps your immune system which also helps your voice, then it helps your lung capacity, breathing etc etc..